top of page
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon

My 40 Bags in 40 Days Challenge, 2023

Updated: Feb 3, 2023


I was in a conversation with a trained theologian recently, who helped to reiterate the importance of my 40 bags in 40 days challenge during Lent. The Christian season of Lent is a time of intentionally working on oneself as a spiritual discipline and sacrificing that which can interfere with ones relationship with God and cultivating better, holier habits.


Since excess stuff can absolutely be counterproductive spiritually, giving up clutter is a reasonable Lenten practice, and donating our extra items to those who have none is definitely biblical. However, spiritual practice does not have to be overtly religious.


After 3 years of participating in this challenge, I feel as though I am perpetually decluttering, organizing, and cleaning in my life now. The idea of Lent is to continue to do better going forward into the new life of Easter. It can be encouraging to support each other as we keep moving forward. I'd love for you to join my YouTube family where I share ideas and inspiration for simpler living.

At any rate, doing another round of 40 days or whatever keeps you pumping those decluttering muscles makes good sense. I want to be sure to share the Facebook group: 40 Bags in 40 Days because it is, in my opinion, a really good accountability avenue or can be a good way to check in every now and then. There is no judgement, so wherever you are on your journey to LESS, you can find encouragement there.


I made some pretty amazing progress last year, if I do say so myself.

Click HERE to see that playlist.


Decluttering, cleaning, and organizing are all pieces of a healthy puzzle. Each one supports the other and fits together to create peace of mind.


You do not have to be Catholic or Christian to participate. Whatever your spiritual orientation or religious affiliation, having a support system and an encouraging community is a beautiful thing!



I’ll be documenting my progress this year, once again, on my YouTube channel for inspiration for all my viewers and subscribers. My plan is to upload a video once each week for my own accountability check in. Be sure to subscribe so you don't miss these weekly updates.

Lent begins on Ash Wednesday. This year, that is February 22, 2023. So be on the lookout.


I invite you to join in as well--no progress is too small. It can be trash, donations of any sort, recycling, boxes or bags--large or small. I created a document last year for you to print out, as I did. As you count your "bags",you can visually check them off as they head out of the house for good. I'll be using this visual again this year...no need to recreate the wheel, right?!



Share YOU progress with me in the comments on social if you'd like. I'll be cheering you on!




My List of Spaces to Declutter:

Recycling

Kitchen Upper Cabinets

Lower Cabinets

Pantry

Fridge

Dining Rm. Hutch

Art Cart/Supplies

Living Rm. Toy Bins

TV Stand

Ottoman Storage

Master Closet

Drawers

Dresser Top

Under Bed (don't judge me)

Jewelry

Master Bath Makeup

Vanity

Kids Closet

Drawers

Toy Box

Barbies

Baby Dolls

Bathrms. Closet

Vanity

Laundry Rm. Shelves

Storage Areas Hall Closet

Coat Closet

Basement

Office Area Desk

File Cabinet

Wet Bar Drawers

Cabinet


H A P P Y D E C L U T T E R I N G !!




92 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page